Yoga on the Wall: Headstand

Prop’s are highly under-rated. I enjoy using the wall when doing yoga, not because I need to, but because I like being able to check my posture and just shut my eyes and zone out.

The Headstand is one pose I particularly like using the wall, and I do it in the hallway so I can walk my legs up one wall and support my backside with the other.

I prepare by putting a rolled up yoga mat on the floor, perpendicular to the wall. Then I put my head on it and my hands on the floor, shoulder distance apart. I stop and check to make sure my head and hands form a triangle, my fingers are spread wide (starfish hands), and my chin is parallel to the floor (which is extremely important for proper neck alignment).

When I’m ready to invert myself, I put one foot on the wall that my head is not against, with my leg parallel to the floor (thus perpendicular to the wall), and the other leg against the same wall as my head and directly over my head. I stop and center my hips over my shoulders, and when I feel they are aligned, I kick the other leg up, over my head. If I over kick a bit, no problem, the wall is there. So, “That’s okay.”

When I’m ready to come down, I walk my legs down the wall.

The Headstand is often called the King’s Pose because there are so many health benefits to doing it. However, if you’ve had any neck or spine injuries, you should check with your doctor first. And I have read that you should not do it if you are more than 10 pounds over weight.

Following a headstand is a great time to meditate. I like to put my sitting bones on the rolled up yoga mat and my back against the wall.

Happy Headstands! 

About Faye Lynn

Barefoot and Breathless is a contemporary romance, chick-lit, women's fiction novel about a single mother looking for love, dealing with her son's growing independence, overcoming a past abusive relationship, trying to stay true to her morals, and teaching in a public at-risk school. It's a light, fun read with a writing style of Rachel Gibson meets Janet Evanovich. Like the heroine in Barefoot and Breathless, I'm a teacher, yogi, and single mother. I hope you enjoy reading my posts, and I look forward to reading your comments. Carpe Diem, Faye Lynn
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

