Yoga on the Pier

We are often told to “stop and smell the roses.”

And today I did. I stopped at Lucky Peak Reservoir (Idaho) and did yoga side poses on the sandy beach, then yoga front-facing and balancing and seated poses on the pier. And it was wonderful!

My feet in the sand on the uneven surface and watching the ripples on the water made balancing slightly more challenging while doing Warrior 2, Extended Side Angle, Extended Triangle, and Standing Wide-Legged Forward Bends.

Standing on the floating pier was even more challenging as it moved with the ripples from the wind and waves from the boats. After doing Downward-Facing Dog, Plank, Chaturanga, and High Lunge, I did Tree Pose, Eagle Pose, and a couple of others. The balancing poses were particularly fun on the pier.

With the warm breeze brushing my skin, the sound of the water lapping the shore, and the sun sparkling on the water, I sat on the pier and did Boat Pose, Modified Boat (one leg high and the other lower but not on the ground), Forward Bend, Spinal Twists, Cross-Legged Forward Bend, Cobra, and Superman.

Then I rested on my stomach and completely relaxed. And before I left, I sat on the pier with my feet dangling over the side and in the cold mountain water.

It was a wonderful experience, and I hope you try doing yoga on a pier sometime.

About Faye Lynn

Barefoot and Breathless is a contemporary romance, chick-lit, women's fiction novel about a single mother looking for love, dealing with her son's growing independence, overcoming a past abusive relationship, trying to stay true to her morals, and teaching in a public at-risk school. It's a light, fun read with a writing style of Rachel Gibson meets Janet Evanovich. Like the heroine in Barefoot and Breathless, I'm a teacher, yogi, and single mother. I hope you enjoy reading my posts, and I look forward to reading your comments. Carpe Diem, Faye Lynn
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

